Disturbia?!

April 14, 2009

Disturbia?

Disturbia?

“Art is what you can get away with…” -Andy Warhol

I’m a big fan of Andy Warhol and the pop art phenomenon he helped usher in to popular culture, but this is just weird. L.A. based pop artist Sham Ibrahim created the master piece above with his inspiration being non other than the now infamous photo of Rihanna taken directly after the alleged attack on her by Chris Brown.

Normally if I don’t get something I seek out answers to my questions until I understand. This situation is no different. I sought out answers as to why someone would create a piece of art that depicts an event so horrifying to some. I remember gagging a little when I saw that mug shot of Rihanna. So I found my answer, and it was pretty sad. Here’s what the artist had to say:

“I thought the bruises in the police photo were interesting shapes to draw,” artist Sham told E! Online, about his Andy Warhol-esque painting of Rihanna’s now infamous police photo. “And it was cool to color them pink and blue. Those are two of my favorite colors. There is no message to any of my art,” he says of his work, Disturbia. “It’s meant to look cool hanging on your wall and that’s it! I’m not into deep meanings.”

You thought the shape of the bruises were cool? Really? Like I said. Straight sad…

Leave a Reply

